3.5 stars to Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

Published January 24, 2014 by katheryn13

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Review:

When I first read Divergent, I was in awe. Here was one of the first dystopian, futuristic novels I’d ever read, and I loved it. It gave me everything I could possibly want: action, romance, a hot bad boy, drama, and even some light humour. I was all over Four in a heartbeat. Many of my friends were the same way, and we wrote fan fiction and just…embraced the fandom fun.

Insurgent was released and I was so excited. I read it in a matter of a day or two, and was enamoured. I thought it was twice, three times as good as Divergent in terms of quality, action, character development.

Then came the long wait for Allegiant. Of course for months we speculated about the title. Some joked it would be called Detergent. I have to say, that cracked me up every time I saw it!

November 2013, Allegiant is released and the world goes wild. Well, maybe not the world. But Twitter certainly had a lot to say about it. I didn’t actually recieve the book until a couple weeks after the due date (like it’s a baby or something. haha) but I wasn’t that bothered. I could manage. That is, until certain people began posting spoilers on tumblr, twitter and every other social site they could find. Luckily, I managed to avoid these spoilers and I didn’t see what the fuss was about. What did piss me off were the people talking in general about it, and specifically, how bad the ending was.

I’d spent months, a year, looking forward to this book, this conclusion to a beloved series, and all I hear is how bad it is. What a mood killer. It actually tampered down my hunger to read it, so I left it a couple weeks, maybe longer. Finally I pick it up. Because of the gossip, I found I couldn’t get into it as quickly as I’d have liked. The characters weren’t talking to me quite so easily, and I kept on picturing the actors from the movie (which fyi I’m not really a fan of, but that’s another matter entirely.) so it wasn’t as thrilling. I stopped. I put down the book. And I read other things. Took my mind off it.

Two months later, I pick it back up and decide I will finish it. All that time and energy into the series, and having loved books 1 and 2, I can’t just not read it. No matter what people are saying.

And you know what? I actually didn’t find it as bad as I guess I was expecting. Not brilliant by a long shot. In fact in terms of Divergent and Insurgent, it was like an injured puppy following slowly behind. But I didn’t let that bother me.

I’ll start off with what I did enjoy:

The pacing. Well thought out. The action was top notch, and dramatic. I like lots of drama, especially if it feels genuine, not forced. The dilemmas between the factions and the factionless, the wars, and the bureau. The fringe.

These were all new developments, new areas, uncharted waters, as you might say. New characters. I specifically liked Mathew.

Nita, not so much. I saw something ugly in her from the start.

Now, for what I didn’t like: I won’t spare you any feelings. In one name, one name only: TOBIAS!

WHAT THE HELL, DUDE?!

His character was unbelievably, undoubtably THE most whiniest, annoyingly, irritating in all of the main leads I have ever read. Going from book 1 where I fell in love, to book 3 where I now kinda couldn’t care less, is a damned impressive job. Well done, Veronica!

Now, that’s not to say he didn’t have his good bits. All up to chapter 7 or 8 were fine, within reason. Tris tried to steer him onto a sensible, logical path, but he would not listen and for the first time ever I found myself wanting to kill him myself.

Not necessarily something I disliked tremendously, but something that bothered me: the plot that people can be genetically damaged or genetically pure. I guess obviously it was made up, but the characters views on this were very much annoying, and I think that was the point. David was someone very similar to Jeanine in that he didn’t care who he killed in the process of getting what he wanted.

Uriah…well.

Christina…she really showed herself, and I like her more now. The same with Cara.

Caleb I could take or leave. He never really grew on me. Peter…well we won’t even go there.

Tris. Always liked. Maybe more in this than in the first two books. She became stronger, more mature, and I swear she was older than 16 the way she behaves. She’s got a head on her shoulders and no matter the truths or lies they are all told, she decides what to believe, what decision to make and she sticks with it. Brave.

For the ending…well, several chapters before the end in actual fact, something big happens. I won’t say, although I can guess most that are going to read the book, already have done so, and therefore already know what happened. After this revelation, I honestly couldn’t see the point in the rest. I was sick to the teeth of His Whiniest, and I just…became fed up. I did finish it though. I give Allegiant a 3.5 star mostly for its hard effort to be something amazing. It tried, it didn’t conquer, but it also didn’t fail in my opinion. It told the story of a group of kids fighting for their lives, to find a home and keep peace. It told of love and bravery and honesty, of bitterness and anger, of selfishness and selflessness and how sometimes the two together aren’t so bad. I can’t really think of anything else to say, and quite frankly this is almost a story in itself, this review.

I hope many of you found enjoyment in Allegiant even if you didn’t like the outcome. I am glad I read this, and I do recommend it to others. I also wish Veronica Roth the greatest luck in the world for whatever else she may complete in the near future.

Kat

Leave a Reply

