4.5 stars to Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver

Published February 6, 2014 by katheryn13

Battling against a society in which love has been declared a disease, Lena now finds herself at the centre of a fierce revolution. But the Wilds are no longer the haven they once were as the government seeks to stamp out the rebels. And Lena’s emotions are in turmoil following the dramatic return of someone she thought was lost forever…

Review:

Why WHY WHY did I wait so long to read this? WHY did I let other peoples ridiculous complaints about the ending put me off for a YEAR? I’m stupid. Really damned stupid.

If I’m brutally honest, I loved this more than the first two books. Now, doesn’t it just SUCK when that happens? Not that I didn’t enjoy the first two. I mean, I would have given up if I didn’t. Y’know?

Sadly, everyone who read Requiem did nothing but complain about the ending. How bad it was, blablabla. I don’t know what book they were reading, but i thoroughly enjoyed this from start to finish.

The problem is, essentially, that because it wasn’t a neat and tidy, everyone lives happily ever after, lovey dovey ending, people seemed to think the author deserved hate, or that it was a damned awful ending. Eh…what now?

I personally don’t mind endings that don’t wrap up nicely. Some books call for that, right. Some do, and if they’re not, we’re left thinking…what the hell? But dystopians in particular, they have a different kind of…sound, I suppose, about them, and it’s all about the wonder of the future. This left me feeling wistful and thoughtful. It’s definitely philosophical in its tie up.

Okay so the plot: Lena is well and truly deep in the wilds, and guess who’s back? Yeah, Alex. We thought he’d died. So did Lena. But now she’s got Julian, who I didn’t like at first in Pandemonium, but he grew on me and now I’m tied. Alex has changed, a lot. He’s angry at Lena. Apparently she was supposed to, what? Not care about anyone else? Go rescue him? He’s the one that told her to run in the first place! Jeez.

There are a couple of points that irritate me with Lena, she does nothing but believe people, especially those she loves. If Alex says he doesn’t love her anymore, she believes it, right off the hat. She’s all “No, he told me face to face. He doesn’t love me. So it must be true.” bla bla bla. Dude! Boys lie. Even people we love. Everyone lies at some stage, especially if it’s to protect our own feelings.

Poor Julian, though. He’s in love with Lena. And this reminds me a lot of the whole Peeta/Gale/ Katniss problem in yknow, Hunger Games. Both guys love her but she’s too confused, too torn and okay so Katniss had other reasons to be troubled. I’m digressing.

Now there’s a revolution on the horizon, and as the group move from settlement to settlement, they are being hunted by the regulators. The people of Portland (Maine, not Oregon. It took me a while and a search on google maps to figure this out >_<) are on the rampage. They want rid of every Invalid, every uncured who has the disease called L.O.V.E. I mean, it’s beyond ridiculous.

Requiem is split into two POV’s, Lena and Hana. They both share their own experiences, inside the city and outside in the wild. There’s deaths, action, bombs, romance, not much humour, but still…there’s Lena’s sarcasm which I love. It’s rare, but it’s there. It’s interesting to get a view of how Hana lives now because we didn’t see her in book 2. She’s cured, and snobbish like the others, but she’s also paired with Fred Hargrove’s, up and coming Mayor, to replace his father who was killed. He’s a…how do I put this? … a complete bastard. Cruel, manipulative and two faced, and he expects everyone to obey him. Hana starts to crack through the facade of being Cured. Things change, she dreams, and new discoveries make her question her loyalty to Fred.

There was definitely conflict between Julian and Alex, and plenty of other characters that added something. Raven especially was one I liked. Strong and a leader, she inspired. As they gained forces with other groups, there was a sense of unity. Lena meets a familiar face from her past, and struggles to regain a relationship with her.

A weird comment, but I noticed there’s a lot more swearing in this than usual. Which is fine, it shows they’re growing up a lot faster. I just thought I’d point that out. :P

I’m really sad this is over now, because to be honest I felt like the story was just getting started. Sure, I’d have liked to know what happened to Lena after…stuff, (trying to remain spoiler free. ugh) but obviously the author thought it wasn’t necessary, and we need to respect that. As it is, I thought it ended on a sweet note. It lets you use your imagination. Create your own scenario.

Great work Lauren Oliver. :)

Kat

Leave a Reply

