4 stars to The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Published February 10, 2014 by katheryn13

Blue has spent the majority of her sixteen years being told that if she kisses her true love, he will die. When Blue meets Gansey’s spirit on the corpse road she knows there is only one reason why – either he is her true love or she has killed him.

Determined to find out the truth, Blue becomes involved with the Raven Boys, four boys from the local private school (lead by Gansey) who are on a quest to discover Glendower – a lost ancient Welsh King who is buried somewhere along the Virginia ley line. Whoever finds him will be granted a supernatural favour.

Never before has Blue felt such magic around her. But is Gansey her true love? She can’t imagine a time she would feel like that, and she is adamant not to be the reason for his death. Where will fate lead them?

Review:

Such a complex, magical story. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever read, which I’m still trying to decide that’s a good or bad thing. I love Gansey. He has all the attitude of an old man, but deep down he’s just lonely and missing something to his life, despite having lots of money. People think rich people have it all, and most do, but there are some times where money can’t buy love.

Blue is a weird and wonderful character. Growing up with psychics has made her open to anything. When she is told her true love will die if she kisses him, well, it’s almost like a dare. She’s determined to make sure he doesn’t die, especially when she discovers the boy is Gansey.

Adam, Ronan and mysterious Noah are Gansey’s ‘gang’ and go with him wherever. But they each have their own problems and that adds so much more. Although, those problems are severely tragic in their own way.

I liked the bond between Gansey and his friends. He seemed to care more for them than people give him credit for, and it’s almost sad how Ronan and Adam don’t seem to appreciate how much he helps them, whether it be school or home. Despite his front, Gansey really is insecure, which is sad, because…well, it is. I think that’s why I liked him so much, because like calls to like. >_<

I have to admit, I thought there would be some romance in this, given that the tag line is “if you kiss your true love, he will die”. I mean, I wasn’t expecting lots, because of the obvious, but I did think there would be undying love and torment because they couldn’t kiss, or whatever. I also got thrown sideways when Adam turned out to be more central than Gansey in terms of Blue. I was like “what? But I thought…wait, WHAT?” so yeah. I’m hoping Dream Thieves will prove a bit more understandable.

Blue’s family cracked me up, especially Persephone and Calla. They were both creepy but witty, and they livened up the house, when things got intense.

There was plenty of suspense, and several moments that had me biting my nails (although I do that anyway…) and I can’t wait to continue with book 2!

Kat

Leave a Reply

