5 stars to Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3) by Tahereh Mafi

Published February 19, 2014 by katheryn13

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew – about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam – was wrong.

There may be spoilers, so beware.

Review:

You’re all expecting some deep and profound review, I bet.

But all I want to do is cry and sob and heave and cry and stamp my feet and cry. Because this series is over and  I honestly feel so lost.  I reread all the books prior to reading this, because I wanted to put it off as long as possible. Unfortunately, unless I stopped reading it altogether, it was bound to happen. And when it did, I felt shattered into tiny pieces. I really don’t know how I’m going to cope knowing there’s no more Juliette, no more Warner, no more Kenji, and even…no more Adam or James. Despite how irritating I found him in Ignite Me.

What can I say? Tahereh Mafi shoots and she scores. I can’t find a fault. Okay, so If I’m really picky? The ending… If you call that “closure” I think you need a dictionary. That was by far the most open ended ending to a series since Requiem. I’M NOT KIDDING!

I felt like there could have been at least another 100 pages or so, just to tighten it up, to give some hint as to what happens next. No epilogue needed, just some guidance. Now I feel like there needs to be a spin-off series. Hint Hint double Hint triple HINT!

Anyway, *breathes* My love for Warner. Will it ever stop growing? I don’t think I can contain it all in one tiny heart. I liked him in Shatter Me, Loved him in Unravel Me and my god…

Kenji, man, you rule! I felt so bad for him, but also he really brings life to this story. I realise he was trying hard to keep spirits lifted because what happened to Omega Point not only destroyed him, it almost killed Castle, who he considers a father. Or  near enough.

Juliette, she really grew in this. She changed from a shy, unimpressive, scared girl to someone who can become proud of herself, take charge of her powers and not have to answer to anyone. I really, truly wish I had her guts. I found at times her attitude was so inspiring, I was nearly in tears with jealousy. Adam constantly telling her she had changed for the worse, and basically calling her stupid for it, was wrong, and for that I just got so annoyed with him. Yes, so what, she broke up with him, but that doesn’t mean you go around being a dick over it and insulting her. She broke up with him for HIS OWN GOOD, and the fact he couldn’t appreciate that, rather than shoving it in her face, was just beyond a joke. Warner was always going to be the better choice, because as much as he was callous and cruel, he believed in her, he loved her, and he wanted her to become herself,  the truth inside of her. Wow that sounds cheesy, but you know what I mean? He didn’t underestimate her.

For the other characters, Sara and Sonya, Lily, Alia, Brendan, Winston, even Ian, I  mean these people…they made the book. They each brought their own quarter and stopped it from being entirely ‘the Adam and Juliette soap drama’ because that’s what it would have been.

As for Anderson, have fun in hell, you bastard!

There are a couple of…rather steamy chapters that I will not spoil, but just be warned. Oh my. Near the 50’s. Just saying. *winks* and these are beyond anything I ever imagined. Tahereh, you kinky sod! :P Love ya.

I am so so so SO deeply sorry to see this series end, and it has by far been one of the best, if not THE best ever in my life and I just can’t deal with the parting. It hurts. I’ve invested so much time and emotion into these beautiful characters, I can only imagine how painful it is for Tahereh to stop, to leave them. Unless there is a spin off in which case….*throws tiny hearts your way*

Good bye my loves, I’ll miss you. *sobs*

Kat

Leave a Reply

