4 stars to What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

Published May 2, 2014 by katheryn13

Imagine that you have two minds, sharing one body. You and your other self are closer than twins, better than friends. You have known each other forever.

Then imagine that people like you are hated and feared. That the government want to hunt you down and tear out your second soul, separating you from the person you love most in the world.

Now meet Eva and Addie.

They don’t have to imagine.

Review:

In a world where everyone is born as twins (2 souls in one body), but come their 7th year one of the souls/twins has to become dominant and the other dies.  When both souls remain, they’re classified as Hybrids. Addie and Eva are Hybrids though they hide away,  scared of what might happen if found out. After coming in contact with another girl (Hally/Lissa, who they find out is also Hybrid), Eva decides she wants go learn to share control of the body again. Unfortunately Hally gets caught and in turn, so do Eva/Addie.

There’s so much going on in this book that it was so hard to put it down, and page to page of drama. I really liked Ryan/Devon, although Ryan more. The two guys (souls) were very different in personality and so it was easy to tell them apart, although it was usually Eva telling us which one it was. With all the different souls, I did, admittedly, get a bit lost on who was who. It seemed to me there were double the amount of characters. Haha.

So yes, I loved this story. As I said, lots going on, which made it hard to process everything sometimes, but that didn’t mean I had time to stop. Oh no. It was a rollercoaster.

On a side note, going through other reviews, why does no one ever mention other characters names? Occasionally I forget the names and have to google, and sometimes I on Goodreads to see reviews and all I see are the main two names but no others. I’m screaming WHY IS NOBODY ELSE MENTIONED?! Sorry, had to mention that. Back to the review.

There’s an aspect of survival’s instincts in this, and certain times when Addie/Eva would do something extreme, it made me want to cry out and hug them.

Honestly, I don’t know what else to say. It’s just so good that I WILL be reading the sequel. I want to know what happened next. I NEED to know. I haven’t read anything this engrossing in such a long time.

Kat

Leave a Reply

