TWO mini reviews: 3.5stars to Maximum Ride #3 by James Patterson & 4stars to The Death Cure by James Dashner

Published May 22, 2014 by katheryn13

 

In the third installment of James Patterson’s Maximum Ride series, the time has arrived for Max and her winged “Flock” to face their ultimate enemy and discover their original purpose: to defeat the takeover of “Re-evolution”, a sinister experiment to re-engineer a select population into a scientifically superior master race…and to terminate the rest. Max, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gasman, and Angel have always worked together to defeat the forces working against them–but can they save the world when they are torn apart, living in hiding and captivity, halfway across the globe from one another?

 

Review:

I have enjoyed the previous two books in this series, but this one has to be my favourite. Funny, full of adventure and kicking ass, there’s plenty to love. Max’s smart-aleck comments always amuse me.

The twists and turns throughout this book, though, they were something to take in. Although some of this is really cheesy, I realise the series is for kids, and I mean, it’s obvious in the writing style and the language, but even so, I’m way older than the demographic, I’m sure, and I loved it.

Not sure about continuing the books, though, as I’ve heard questionable reviews. But as a trilogy, it works for me and I’d be happy to stop now.

Kat


 

 

 

The Trials are over. WICKED is planning to restore the survivors’ memories and complete the final cure for the Flare.

But Thomas has already remembered more than they think. And he knows WICKED can’t be trusted…

The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine. Will anyone survive the Death Cure?

 

Review:

I have enjoyed this series completely, even if at times I have been thoroughly grossed out and have taken long breaks because yes the font is small and the context is heavy (for me.) but I have always finished. And this was no exception.

Now that the trials are over, WICKED has plans. Plans that involve Thomas and his friends. But Thomas has other “plans” and this time he means business. On a whirlwind journey across several parts of the USA (mostly Denver), we’re introduced to more of the Cranks, and where they live, and an underground (not literally) rebel group who plot to destroy WICKED.

The ending, as so many people have said, was a little…basic. It felt to me a little rushed, but in the end I just felt glad the torment of their story was over and they could have a somewhat peaceful life.

If the movie producers decide to do the whole trilogy as movies, this one will certainly take a lot of energy and devising. I can’t wait!

Kat

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

