4 stars to City of Heavenly Fire (Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare

Published June 2, 2014 by katheryn13

Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world changed in the sixth and last instalment of the internationally bestselling The Mortal Instruments series.

Erchomai, Sebastian had said. I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in this world can defeat him – must they journey to another world to find the chance?

Review:

Let me just clear this up: I was going to rate this book 3.5 stars. That was before the epilogue. I’ll just call this my “disclaimer” :P

So the end has come, and I guess we all knew it would happen. Would Sebastian aka Jonathan Morgenstern win the war? Would he rule all of hell and earth and whatever else he was planning?

A little part of me hoped he’d redeem himself. But alas it was not to be. I won’t say any spoilers, though that is going to make reviewing damned difficult because SO much happened.

I’ll get the negatives out of the way. I felt for the first half or three quarters of the book not a lot actually HAPPENED. Oh don’t get me wrong, lot’s went on, people did stuff and said stuff that were both bad and good, but the phrase “you say a lot without actually saying anything” comes to mind. Lots went on but not a lot actually happened. As in, I felt like I was being dragged around a playground for hours until suddenly there was a bump in the road. I dunno, bad analogy. Edit: I just remembered to add there were a couple of continuity problems and also the pacing…I don’t know if it was just me, but it felt off.

Then about half way, things started to get real. The ‘gang’ as I like to call them, travel into an unknown realm, which is basically…hell. They roam hills and vast desert, and encounter demons. This was the most interesting bit in this section for me, when they first arrive, and they each fall into a dream where their hearts desire come true. Although it’s not really their desire, as they each find out. I thought that added a nice twist, as opposed to just entering hell and it being a bit anti climactic.

As much as I hated Sebastian…I still kind of liked him. I understood (although not in a personal way) that he just, ultimately, wanted to be loved. The problem was, he didn’t understand that that other person needs a good reason to love back and it can’t be forced. He thought by threatening and practically forcing Clary to love him, it would happen. Which is what made me like him, despite the crazy shit he did, he was deep down lonely.

Now, we all knew that two new characters (well a whole family, really) would be introduced into this book. Emma and Julian being the centre pair. I understood why Cassie did this, because of her releasing a new Shadowhunter series in 2015. But…now here’s where my opinion might be unpopular. I didn’t particularly like how much they were in it. I get that you can introduce them, maybe have them in a couple of scenes, but in my view, that should have been it. They took up too much room and imo were quite boring. I felt zero feelings towards them, and it really bugged me. More because I had to drag myself through the long chapters they were in just to get to good stuff. I realise that I don’t have to read the next series, and I may not, but for an end of series book for the characters we already know and love, adding these new people for as much as she did, was a bit unnecessary.

Shoot pellets at me if you like.

Magnus as always was someone I hoped survived. Although in contrast to other books in the series, his part wasn’t that big. The wolves seemed to be more of a focus, which I guess yeah is okay, but I’ve never been a big lover of werewolves (long story) and so this put me off, but I was sad when a certain thing happened. Actually, two certain things, but that’s unrelated to the pack. *remembers not to spoil*

Onto the epilogue and this is where the dull parts of the book are redeemed because what happened at the end of the book broke me. I was sad, no tears though. Just…sad. Until epilogue and dammit, you got reminders of the Herondale family and a certain blue eyed boy and I’m like “WILLLLLLL I MISS YOU!!!” but yknow, that’s another story. Literally. hehe.

I just loved (and hated) all the references to the characters in TID and especially mentions of  certain ghost in the London Institute. (if you’ve read that series, you’ll understand.) but this is what made me cry. In some ways, I felt a stronger attachment to them than the Mortal Instruments crew.

I guess there’s not much else I can say. I enjoyed this book…well, most of it. Despite the whines and complaints, it was a good ending to a very good series. I’m glad nothing major happened, although some things were pretty scary. There were so many laughs, which was nice, it lightened the tension, and many twists and turns.

Looking forward to what Cassie next has in store for us…

Kat

Leave a Reply

