4.5 stars to The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass

Published June 14, 2014 by katheryn13

THE SELECTION changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. Now, only one will claim Prince Maxon’s heart…

It’s swoon meets the Hunger Games in the final instalment of THE SELECTION trilogy!

For the four girls who remain at the palace, the friendships they’ve formed, rivalries they’ve struggled with and dangers they’ve faced have bound them to each other for the rest of their lives.

Now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown – or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realises just how much she stands to lose – and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

 

 

Review:

PRAISE YOU, KIERA! *high fives* I loved that bit in the Acknowledgements! lol

If I had any doubts about how this would pan out, then I wish I could go back to myself three days ago and slap my face. Shake my shoulders and tell me that I’m being silly. I won’t spoil it because it’s a pretty  big ending.

Anyway, America…wow she became so much more in The One. I’ll admit she got on my nerves a bit in The Elite because of her “indecision” over Maxon and Aspen. I mean, really. There is NO comparison. (pssst I love Maxon!) But I could also see her point of view. She’d only ever known Aspen and change isn’t always good, sometimes it’s freaking scary and if you don’t know what’s waiting on the other side, why would you want to change?

There were plenty of sad moments, however in this final instalment. I cried. I know, I know, I try not to. But…those letters. *zips lips* I can’t. You’ll know what I mean if you’ve read it.

I wanted to slap America at one point, though. Her attention to secrecy regarding Aspen was bound to slip at one point and when it did I was ready to start an intervention. This girl…hasn’t she learned anything by now? Secrets aren’t good.

The romance in this is swoooooon worthy and awww man….can i just grafitti my love for Maxon MAXON MY DARLING MY DEAR COME TO MEEEE! (I’m not crazy, I promise!)

I love her family, though. May…however overly giddy, she is a sweetie. Kota bugged me. Such a self-righteous git. Grr. We get to meet Kenna properly this time.

There are also new characters involving the Northern Rebels, and there are some surprises that took me by surprise.

I’m so sad this is the end of America’s story but I will forever love it. Such a roller coaster of feelings. I wish I could be a princess. *sighs*

Kat

Leave a Reply

